Tags

,

I am a poor quality blogger.

Forgive me.

I’m going to place the blame squarely on my research seminar course. I’ve mentioned before that I completely bailed on my thesis, so I am required by the university to do this sort of “thesis-lite” thing in order to finish the degree. I’m down to three more courses after this one, but none of them are likely to be as labour-intensive as this one.

Also of note, Kurt Cobain died 20 years ago. That makes me feel dreadfully, painfully old. His was the first celebrity death that I can remember clearly from my childhood; I was in my bedroom listening to 97.7 HTZ FM on my Emerson CD/Casette/AM/FM unit (the now obsolete type with the separate speakers and the dual tape deck). They played a lot of Nirvana over the next few days.

(In retrospect, I’m not sure why I even liked Nirvana that much as a kid. Almost all of their music is garbage. Kurt Cobain was a lousy guitarist and a worse singer. It may just be that he was the right thing for a depressed era, but the staying power just isn’t there.)

The girls have been playing a lovely game of “Pass the Virus” all winter. Good thing they’re so cute. They are also really good at playing imaginary games in their kitchen, so I have plenty of material for analyzing their cognitive development according to the dominant theories of children’s psychology.

Image

For the sake of randomness: if you own an Android phone and you want to fully (and I mean fully) customize the launch screen, you need to download Themer. I’ve spent hours poking around on this thing, and if you are willing to put the time into learning it you can make your phone look like virtually anything you could ever want. I am so glad I didn’t go iPhone.

