My principal used this video in a presentation that kicked off Bullying Awareness and Prevention Week:

(He’s an excellent public speaker, reminiscent of the old-school revivalists that speak passionately and authentically and inspirationally.)

I felt compelled to share this video today on Facebook, maybe because I so rarely live up to this ideal, maybe because I wanted to see what kind of reaction it would elicit.  And two things came up from it.

The first is that kindness is definitely a good thing.  It is an ideal that most – if not all – people want to see manifested in the world.  Dave Carrol and Freedom House Church are beacons of this, particularly through the Kindness Project in Brantford; free BBQs, outreach, and genuine good acts are transforming one of the roughest downtowns in Ontario.

The second is that people think that this video is kind of cheesy.

To be fair, I do too.

But the thing about it is that, if I am being brutally honest with myself, I feel really crappy about the fact that I think that there is something cheesy about it.  It is a mark on my character that I am so cynical, so jaded, that part of me should look at this and think, “Come on.  That is so lame.”

This video is what should be happening.

Random acts of kindness, passed forward from person to person, should be something we teach in school, model for our children, and live out as a calling in our own lives.  It’s almost a guarantee that our world would be a better place on every possible level.  Why is the thought of that something that makes me roll my eyes when I see it presented in a format like this video?  How can that live alongside the part of me that desperately wants to be better at doing the things those fictional strangers did?

I don’t have an answer for that one.

