Tags

, ,

You know, I deliberately avoided taking Statistics when I was in my undergrad because the whole concept is mind-numbing to me.  That’s not to say that I don’t appreciate the utility of the discipline; statistics are very, very important and I’m glad that there are people that know how to create them accurately.  I just don’t ever want to be one of those people.

It turns out that I underestimated Stats.

Stats is a cunning, patient predator.  Nearly a decade after completing my Honours English degree, it jumped me from a dark alley and is currently pulling out my nails, one by one, while it quizzes me on the use of the Kruskall-Wallis test in quantitative group comparison scenarios.

(By the way, this is how the Stats monster looks in the depths of my nightmares.  Bonus points if you can identify the two elements in the hybrid.)

