Tags

, , , ,

A brief note, since I have been very, very negligent in the care and feeding of my blog.

I am a third of the way into Stephen King’s Wizard and Glass, the fourth book in his Dark Tower series.  I started reading them when I was twelve, and I always promised myself that when the whole thing was finally written I would make a point of reading through it.  I have not been disappointed.

Despite never having read a Zane Grey book in my life, I have always had a soft spot for Westerns.  (I attribute this to having celebrated my seventh birthday at Wyatt Earp’s saloon in Tombstone, Arizona.  I received a book of biographies and oil paintings of some of the Wild West’s most notorious figures; from then on I ever longed to be a sheriff, or at least a self-destructive anti-hero like Doc Holiday.)  King’s mixture of mid-to-post-apocalyptic fantasy and cowboy drama is the kind of elegant blending toward which all writers of imaginative fiction should aim.  That man is one hell of a writer.

But Roland’s ongoing quest for the Dark Tower is merely a diversion at the moment, a brief indulgence when my family has all gone to bed and my computer is powered down for the evening.  All of my energy and time is still bent on trying to pull together my final assignment for the year.  Tackling Sesame Street was supposed to be an easy, fluffy project, but it turns out that those puppets are the subject of an enormous body of research.  Just trying to keep track of the critical trends of the last forty years has proven to be a very difficult task.

I have committed myself to finishing this project by the week’s end at the latest.  After that I hope to have more time to update, post pictures, and even sneak in a few hours of gaming (Deus Ex is reproachfully sitting in my Xbox as we speak).

