Tags

, , ,

Part of my Philosophy of Education course involves presenting a chapter from the text to the rest of the class.  I signed up for the chapter about epistemology.  Yep, epistemology.

For those of you not currently taking a philosophy course:

  • Epistemology:  the study or a theory of the nature and grounds of knowledge especially with reference to its limits and validity

So I have to somehow summarize this concept in relation to educational theory in a way that won’t confuse, bore, or offend anyone in the class.

The model used by most presenters so far has been heavy on the PowerPoint.  I don’t have anything against PowerPoint as a program, but it doesn’t tend to suck me in, no matter how many fancy transitions and animations you put in there.  Also, people have a terrible tendency to read the points verbatim instead of using them as cues for their own discussions and elaborations.  (That particular one I find very irritating, as it presupposes my illiteracy or severe near-sightedness.)

Being someone who enjoys creative approaches, I feel it is my duty to do something much more interesting for my turn.  I thought at first that I should try an interpretive dance, but after flailing about my room for an hour I had yet to nail down the proper jeté that clearly signified “non-foundational theories of knowledge.”  Similarly, my rap floundered when trying to rhyme something with “warranted assertability.”   (“Before I back up my virility?”  “Deride my philosophical ability?”  “Fry my bacon on a skillet-y?”)

I think that it will be some kind of video presentation, ideally one that works in video of Abby running around in her squeaky shoes.  That should grab their attention.  Squeaky shoes denote “justified true belief” to you, right?

