Tags

, ,

A few days ago, my kids had to present to the whole school.  Their topics were “trustworthiness” and “responsibility,” and while I think that “trustworthiness” is a bit of a wishy-washy concept (especially when you already have “respect,” “integrity,” and “honesty” in the mix), the “responsibility” one is rock solid for me.

I gave my students the task of finding quotes that best showed these traits.  I told them that they had to get quotes from people that made a difference in the world (and not just from losers with free blogs on WordPress).  It’s one of those hit-or-miss assignments; some classes rock this kind of thing, and other classes come to me with twelve variations of, “Trust is a must or you’ll go bust.”

Luckily, this class hit it out of the park.  The quotes they brought were outstanding, and they took turns filming each other reading them without setting anything on fire or dropping the digital camera.

And one quote stood out in front of all the rest:

“Let everyone sweep in front of his own door, and the whole world will be clean.”

Goethe

I think that the world would be a much better place if we learned to follow this one.  It would be a hell of a lot cleaner, anyway.

(ps.  I will write a Mother’s Day themed post later.  I’m too busy celebrating it with the mom in my house right now.)

