Tags

, ,

Short post today.  I have bread to bake, dinner to prepare, floors to wash, and a car seat to install.

However, this statement from last night’s dinner was far too good to miss.

From my friend Jenn“We’re having tacos?  Sweet!  I haven’t had tacos like this since I was in Africa.”

It is a little-known fact that Mesoamerica did not invent the taco.  Rather, taco culture and technique was brought there from coastal Africa in the 1600s.  During the Harlem Renaissance, poet Langston Hughes expressed his feelings of frustration at the misappropriation of the taco:

I’ve known tacos:

I’ve known tacos ancient as the world and older than the flow

of human blood in human veins.

 

My soul has grown deep like the tacos.

 

I ate fajitas by the Euphrates when dawns were young.

I made my guac near the Congo and it lulled me to sleep.

 

I looked upon the Nile and raised the tortillas above it.

I heard the singing of the corn flour when Abe Lincoln went

down to New Orleans, and I’ve seen its muddy salsa turn

all golden in the sunset.

 

I’ve known tacos:

Ancient, dusky tacos.

 

My soul has grown deep like the tacos.

On that note of absurdity, Happy New Year.

