Tags

, , ,

Too tired.  Too worn out.  Baby too cranky.  Wife too overwhelmed.  Work too busy.  Life too nutty.  House too messy.  Head too light.  Mood too low.  Enjoy these movie trailers that give me hope for the future in place of anything worthwhile.  I’ll try to write something valuable on Friday.

First, Cowboys and Aliens.  My wife mentioned this trailer and it is stonking amazing.  It has cowboys.  It has aliens.  It has James Bond.  And it has Indiana Jones.  It doesn’t get better than that.

Next The Green Lantern.  I never much cared for him back in my comic book reading days, but this movie seems to have some of the aesthetic cues that made the latest Star Trek film geekily beautiful.  Here’s hoping that Ryan Reynolds doesn’t smirk his way through the whole film…

And finally, in spite of myself, I am excited by The Tempest.  I say in spite of myself not because of things like the casting Helen Mirren (one of the hottest women on the planet, and one that gets even hotter as she gets older), or because it is a Shakespearean play (one of my great loves, being an English major and all).  I say in spite of myself because the director also did Across the Universe (which I refused to watch because it looked so obscenely flaky) and Titus Andronicus (one of the most mangled, wretched, misguided attempts to revive a really crumby play that no one ever wants to watch or perform).  Maybe this will be different.  Maybe I am just a sucker for Djimon Hounsou and his uber-manliness.  And Russel Brand is in there.  That intrigues me.

