Tags

, , ,

I haven’t played a single video game in a week.

A week.

That is an unreal length of time for me to be without a controller in my hands.  Before Abby came along, I put in at least a few hours during the work week and a solid three to four by Sunday night.  Now I can barely remember how to switch from plasma grenades to frags in Halo: Reach.

The worst part of this is the fact that I have two new games sitting on my counter, waiting to be used.

Okay, they aren’t new, per se.  My brother sent them along with me at our last trip to my dad’s place.  With his work in the game industry, he can safely excuse away his addiction to games as work-related research and immersion.  I get the new releases after he has blitzed his way through them.  So they are new to me but all the hardcore gamers have since beaten them on three difficulty levels, ranked up twenty times in multi-player, and written review on an online game forum.

The first one is Enslaved: Odyssey to the West.  My brother’s description of this game was peppered with references to Chinese mythology and the creative genius of Andy Serkis (Gollum from The Lord of the Rings).  This is the kind of thing I enjoy in books and movies, but I’ll be honest when I say that I usually only look for two things in my games: blowing things up and the ability to fly.  If I can do both simultaneously, I consider the game to be a masterwork.

That leaves me with Dead Rising 2.  I loved the first Dead Rising because I could run over zombies with lawnmowers and knock their heads off with baseball bats.  I hated it because it was so insanely difficult to beat that playing it made me feel like Algernon five pages from the end of the book.  I must have spent fifty hours wending my way through that mangled plotline, and in the end I felt all the more hollow for the effort.  Luckily, I could always make myself feel better just by picking up a patio umbrella and using it to comically bowl over hordes of the undead.

Like the memory of a bad relationship, hindsight has made me feel rosy about the whole things, and I am just about ready to dive into my next virtual adventure full of zombies.  I’ll strap Abby into her Ergo carrier, crank up the sound, and teach her to always shoot at the zombies’ heads.

 

