Tags

, , , ,

It has been a long week.  Report cards take a lot out of me at the best of times, but new formatting and rules that I’ve never encountered make it a whole lot worse than usual.  But, with the edits behind me, I feel like I can finally relax just a little before the nuthouse that is parent-teacher interviews.

It also means that I have a little bit of time to update my family tree.

Hell yes, I’m talking recreational genealogy here.

At a recent family reunion, distant cousins, aunts, uncles, and such all helped to draft a family tree with my grandfather’s various siblings.  It was rough, but it gave me a bit of material from which to lay down the larger branches.

After that event, my first cousin (once removed) sent me a pile of information that runs my family back to the late 1700s with confirmed dates, and back a hundred years or more with speculative ones.  Another first cousin (once removed) sent me more details that ended up growing the family tree enormously sideways, turning it into more of a creeping shrub than a tree.  It also presents me with the problem of when to cut off the sideways growth; the print-off is now 13 pages wide, so I will eventually have to stop trying to figure out cousins beyond the fifth or sixth degree.

I do feel happy that Abby will have all of this done for her, though.  It will definitely make that particular school project pretty easy, while I had to lay my family tree out by hand.  Like a chump.

In fact, I tried to start this draft manually on a Star Office program, but I quickly realized that with some 150 members, this tree wasn’t going to work out without some dedicated software.  I did a bit of digging, and Legacy was the program that came up as the most straightforward (and cheapest) option.

And the bloody thing works!  It’s actually an amazing program that sorts out potential problems with dates, link directly to family searches, creates huge beautiful charts to post on your wall when you feel disconnected from humanity.  But there is one small issue.

It’s Mormon.

Yep, it’s a Mormon program.  Through and through.  It has links to the LDS genealogical archives stored in… I dunno… Utah, I guess.  It was predicted on plates of gold that only one pilgrim guy in the whole New World can read.

Now I’m worried that I’ve somehow been converted.  And if reality TV is to be believed, that means that I will either have to have 17 more kids, home-school them all to make sure that they are socially inept, and dress them in identical outfits, or I’ll have to get married three more times and jam all my wives in separate apartments of the same house.

Neither one of these options appeals to me.

