Tags

,

Sorry for the brevity today, but I have a pile of work to do today and none of it is pretty.  In addition to teaching people how to smash each other in the face (and how to avoid having it done to them), I also need to finish my report cards, which is exactly as exciting as it sounds to the layperson.

Report cards aren’t like what they were when you and I were kids.  They have a lot more bureaucracy, bloating, padding, buzzwords, and high-minded expectations attached to them.  They are trying to be a lot of things to a lot of people, and I’m never sure who those people are or what they want.  So, I muddle through them and hope that I communicate some kind of intangible essence about the child’s ability to learn without offending any parents.

I had a prof in teachers college that I viciously hated, and his mandate was to convince us that marks, reports, grades, and evaluation were all unnecessary to the process of learning.  I thought he was an idiot then, and in many ways I still hold to that idea, but now I can see a little of what he is saying.  When the time that I spend trying to report on 18 different aspects of little Bobby’s work habits outstrips the time that I spend planning rich, enjoyable content for him, I begin to wonder if somehow I am missing the point of teaching.

 

