Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Free beer wherever I went. I don’t know why it worked out that way, but this was the weekend of free samples, friends covering my tab, and guests leaving six-packs in my fridge after they had left.  Strange that it happened now that I’m finally employed.

They were giving away full pints for free at the pub on Friday. It wasn't so much a free sample as an invitation to get smashed on the owner's dime.

1 week of overlapping employment. Erin finished work on Friday, and I’m starting my second week of work on Monday.  We just aren’t destined to be home together, I guess.

A Team rip-offs being better than The A Team will likely be. Against my better judgment (but spurred on by this guy) I went to see The Losers.  It wasn’t bad.  It wasn’t great, but it was at least watchable and didn’t have its head rammed up its own butt.  It was everything that the new A Team movie probably should but almost certainly won’t be.  And it had Zoe Saldana in it.  I would watch a movie about manure activists if she made a cameo.

Pretty people doing improbably awesome things with guns and explosives. As long as you don't ask me to invest emotionally in it, I'll pay 8 bucks for the 90 minutes of silly fantasy.

Luxury cupcakes. We went in thinking we would buy three.  We left with a full dozen at $2 each.  We then sat down and ate half of them at a sitting.  Yes, fancy cupcakes should exits, but they should also be heavily regulated to prevent binges like that from happening.

Walmart customer service. There is no such thing.  Trying to find it is like going hunting for unicorns, but with less chance of success.

I actually think that there is something very profound about this image.

Exercise ball addiction. We bought one for Erin to labour on, and I even made sure it was pink so that I wouldn’t be tempted to play with it, but I still find myself sitting on it with a goofy grin on my face, trying and failing to stay upright without touching the ground with any of my limbs.  While my wife will tolerate that sort of thing when she isn’t getting ready to birth a child, I don’t think that she’ll find it funny during labour.

Canadian film is weird. I don’t know why we ended up watching this show (yes I do; see #1 above), but five of us watched a full half hour documentary on Canadian films and it’s preoccupation with weird sex late on Friday night.  It left us all feeling very concerned and giggly.

I'm not sure, but I think that this movie somehow got government funding, as if our identity as Canadians should allow for the exploration of necrophilia.

