Tags

, ,

So much wisdom from so humble a bear.

My throat is swollen, my back is throbbing, I’m running a fever, and my head is pounding its way through my skull right now.

But it’s okay.  There is hope on the horizon for a job.  People are rewarding me for good work.  Students are listening to me.  When I asked one of them to get her own chair (instead of sharing it with another student), she asked me, “Mr. Stirling!  Are you accusing me of having large buttocks?”

Oh how I laughed at that.  Oh how I laughed.

There is a moment in every classroom where you know that the class finally gets you.  It can happen in a few days or it can take months, but it is a palpable feeling, a gelling of the broad range of personalities, abilities, and backgrounds that you will find in every school in Canada.  When it happens, you know it, top to bottom, inside and out.

It is why I got into teaching in the first place.

I want to write more on this, but I am truly feeling completely awful.  Maybe when the angry monsters inside of my head decided to stop operating heavy equipment in search of hidden platinum deposits, I will expound on this idea.

In the meantime, go read my sister-in-law’s blog about even more horrible things than crappy Walkmans from the early 90s.  She can be found at Girl on the Park, here.

