Tags

, , , , ,

Where we go and what we do.  The District is the black area at the bottom.

Where we go and what we do. The District is the black area at the bottom.

This was a strange process.  I had to go through my own writing and figure out where my main character went.  And how long it took her to get  there.  And what she saw along the way.  It was like I was trying to solve a logic puzzle; you know, one of those ones you find in word-game books that only elderly spinster women or giant nerds ever seem to have.

(Note to self: move The Big Book of Word Games vol. 3 to a more discreet location.)

Now I have to go do the same thing with the District itself.  That is going a much more difficult exercise.  Drawing squiggly coastlines and twisty rivers is pretty easy compared with designing a realistic city plan.  If only I had degree in urban planning.  I think I’ll start digging through my atlases (yes, I have more than one, and yes, I keep them near my word-game books) for city plans from Europe.

There aren’t any copyrights on cities, right?  I won’t end up with Nicolas Sarkozy knocking on my door and telling me to knock it off, will I?

Actually, that would be pretty cool.  Paris it is, then!

